Bengaluru: In a major development, Congress has shifted former BJP MLA Raju Kage to Athani instead his former constituency Kagwad and to field former minister and former MP Prakash Hukkeri from Kagwad.

The high command has taken the decision after Hukkeri denied to contest from Athani. Disqualified Congress MLA Mahesh Kumathalli will contest from his former constituency Athani.